Reported Reactions

Devices › Permanent defibrillator electrodes

Device brand name · Defibrillation lead

Durata Sts Optim Active Fixation Lead Df-4 Connecto: medical device reports filed with FDA

364 reports name it, 2011–2013. Manufacturer given most often on reports: St Jude Medical Cardiac Rhythm Management Division. Product code NVY.

364
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 24 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
42.9%
classified as malfunction
41.2% across the product code
3.6%
classified as death, as reported
13 reports · not verified by FDA

364 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Durata Sts Optim Active Fixation Lead Df-4 Connecto" (defibrillation lead); the manufacturer given most often on reports is St Jude Medical Cardiac Rhythm Management Division; received from March 2011 to January 2013. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (53.6%), malfunction (42.9%) and death (3.6%); across all permanent defibrillator electrodes reports (product code NVY) death is recorded in 2.2% and malfunction in 41.2%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are device dislodged or dislocated (34.6%), high capture threshold (32.1%) and low sensing threshold (24.2%). The patient problems coded most often are cardiac perforation, failure of implant and chest pain. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Durata Sts Optim Active Fixation Lead Df-4 Connecto was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in January 2013.

By year received

01793572011: 420112012: 35720122013: 32013

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death3.6%13
Injury53.6%195
Malfunction42.9%156
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%364
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 138,578 reports carrying product code NVY. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Device dislodged or dislocated12634.6%10.9%
High capture threshold11732.1%8.1%
Low sensing threshold8824.2%1.1%
Over-sensing6016.5%22.8%
Inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation349.3%8.5%
Failure to capture328.8%8.1%
High impedance308.2%20%
Low impedance246.6%6%
Impedance problem71.9%3.1%
Fracturea broken bone61.6%5.4%
Breakthe device broke51.4%8.8%
Intermittent capture41.1%0.6%
Capturing problem20.5%3.7%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly20.5%0.6%
Failure to sense20.5%0.9%
High sensing threshold20.5%0.3%
Under-sensing20.5%2.5%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Cardiac perforation4612.6%
Failure of implant369.9%
Chest painchest pain154.1%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term133.6%
Pericardial effusionfluid around the heart133.6%
Twiddlers syndrome102.7%
Cardiac tamponade82.2%
Muscle stimulation51.4%
Undesired nerve stimulation41.1%
Low blood pressure/ hypotension30.8%
Painpain, site not specified30.8%
Dyspneashortness of breath20.5%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue20.5%
Palpitationsawareness of the heartbeat20.5%
Pleural effusionfluid around the lung20.5%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureDurata Sts Optim Active Fixation Lead Df-4 ConnectoProduct code NVYAll MAUDE reports
Reports364138,57826,136,888
Share of that pool—0.3%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports36229
Classified as injury53.6%56.5%36.2%
Classified as malfunction42.9%41.2%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97.3%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NVY

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Durata Sts Optim Active Fixation Df-4 Connector27,8281,7843.9%
Endotak Reliance25,8972381.2%
Riata Active Fixation13,753961.8%
Sprint Quattro Secure MRI SureScan15,6061,9031.4%
Optisure Active Fixation Df-4 Connector6,5626234.3%
Endotak Reliance Sg8,2881,0830.5%
Sprint Quattro Secure24,23725.2%
Riata St Active Fixation5,416762.2%
Reliance 4-Front9,8522,0240.4%
Isoflex Optim Lead7,8894372%
Durata Sts Optim Active Fixation9,6813015.6%
Riata Passive Fixation4,318321.2%
Endotak Reliance G10,1151,0490.6%
Plexa ProMRI S 652,5212450.6%
Permanent Defibrillator Electrodes2,5242300.6%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Durata Sts Optim Active Fixation Lead Df-4 Connecto reports

How many FDA reports name Durata Sts Optim Active Fixation Lead Df-4 Connecto?

364 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (53.6%), malfunction (42.9%) and death (3.6%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

device dislodged or dislocated (34.6%), high capture threshold (32.1%), low sensing threshold (24.2%), over-sensing (16.5%) and inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation (9.3%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Durata Sts Optim Active Fixation Lead Df-4 Connecto was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.