Reported Reactions

Devices › Dialyzer, high permeability with or without sealed dialysate system

Device brand name · Dialyzer high permeability with or without sealed dialysate system

Dialyzer: medical device reports filed with FDA

270 reports name it, 1994–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Ogden Manufacturing Plant. Product code KDI.

270
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 8 a year
69
reports, 12 months to August 2026
23 in the 12 months before
57.4%
classified as malfunction
64.6% across the product code
2.2%
classified as death, as reported
6 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 270 reports that name the brand "Dialyzer" (dialyzer high permeability with or without sealed dialysate system), received between February 1994 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Ogden Manufacturing Plant. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

69 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 200% from 23 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (57.4%), injury (35.9%) and death (2.2%); across all dialyzer, high permeability with or without sealed dialysate system reports (product code KDI) death is recorded in 5.9% and malfunction in 64.6%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are fluid/blood leak (23.3%), labelling, instructions for use or training problem (18.9%) and leak/splash (7.8%). The patient problems coded most often are hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding, hypersensitivity/allergic reaction and reaction. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

02652Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 1Feb 2022: 4Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 0Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 12024Jan 2024: 2Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 3Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 3Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 5May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 3Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 52Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 22026Jan 2026: 2Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 0Apr 2026: 2May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 2Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

039781994: 1319941995: 381996: 1619962017: 92018: 4520182019: 122020: 1320202022: 102023: 1020232024: 162025: 7820252026: 10

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death2.2%6
Injury35.9%97
Malfunction57.4%155
Other0.7%2
Not given3.7%10

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report73.7%199
Voluntary report8.9%24
User facility report0%0
Distributor report14.1%38
Not given3.3%9

Grey bar: all 43,764 reports carrying product code KDI. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Fluid/blood leak6323.3%31.9%
Labelling, instructions for use or training problem5118.9%0.4%
Leak/splashthe device leaked217.8%3.8%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified83%0.4%
Crackthe device cracked20.7%2.4%
Material separation20.7%0.1%
Obstruction of flow20.7%0.4%
Rupture, cause unknown20.7%0.1%
Device alarm system10.4%0.8%
Device displays incorrect message10.4%1.1%
Material discolored10.4%0.1%
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)10.4%0.3%
Out-of-box failure10.4%0%
Product quality problem10.4%6.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding3613.3%
Hypersensitivity/allergic reaction3312.2%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified3011.1%
Blood loss2910.7%
Chillschills or shivering248.9%
Fatiguetiredness238.5%
Hemodialysis197%
Allergic reactionan allergic reaction145.2%
Bleeding124.4%
Hemolysis93.3%
Respiratory distressdifficulty breathing62.2%
Anemialow red blood cells51.9%
Reaction, systemic51.9%
Arthralgiajoint pain41.5%
Anaphylaxis31.1%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureDialyzerProduct code KDIAll MAUDE reports
Reports27043,76426,136,888
Share of that pool—0.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports22599
Classified as injury35.9%27.9%36.2%
Classified as malfunction57.4%64.6%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer73.7%94.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code KDI

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
MiniCap13,8064091.1%
NxStage System One3,3121205.7%
Optiflux 180nre Dialyzer Finished Assy3,373690.6%
Optiflux 160nre Dialyzer Finished Assy2,840270.8%
Fresenius 2008k1,756076.8%
Prismaflex Sets (St)1,3644660.4%
2008T HEMODIALYSIS SYS., with CDX1,136314.8%
2008k2 Hemodialysis Sys Olc/Diasafe Pls92733.9%
Prismaflex Sets (M)9172870.1%
OPTIFLUX F180NRe HF 12/CS 1.7SA EBEAM8002860.1%
Prismaflex55547.7%
OPTIFLUX F160NRe HF 12/CS 1.5SA EBEAM4662030%
2008t Hd Sys Cdx W/Bibag Blue Star460512.6%
Prismaflex M15044300.7%
Mini-Cap Disconnect W/Pvp-1solution45603.5%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Dialyzer reports

How many FDA reports name Dialyzer?

270 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 69 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (57.4%), injury (35.9%) and death (2.2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

fluid/blood leak (23.3%), labelling, instructions for use or training problem (18.9%), leak/splash (7.8%), reaction (3%) and crack (0.7%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (73.7%), distributor reports (14.1%) and voluntary reports (8.9%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Dialyzer was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.