Device brand name · Cochlear implant
Concerto: medical device reports filed with FDA
843 reports name it, 2004–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Med-El Elektromedizinische Geraete. Product code MCM.
- 843
- device reports naming the brand
- 0% of all MAUDE reports · about 38 a year
- 199
- reports, 12 months to August 2026
- 166 in the 12 months before
- 62.8%
- classified as malfunction
- 43.1% across the product code
- 2.7%
- classified as death, as reported
- 23 reports · not verified by FDA
843 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Concerto" (cochlear implant); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Med-El Elektromedizinische Geraete; received from May 2004 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.
199 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 20% from 166 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (62.8%), injury (33.9%) and death (2.7%); across all implant, cochlear reports (product code MCM) death is recorded in 0.1% and malfunction in 43.1%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.
The device problems coded most often are impedance problem (38.9%), premature discharge of battery (7.7%) and migration (4.7%). The patient problems coded most often are failure of implant, head injury and fall. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."
Reports by month, five years
Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.
By year received
Event type and report source
Event type, as classified on the report
Who filed the report
Grey bar: all 75,481 reports carrying product code MCM. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.
Device problems coded
| Device problem (FDA code) | Reports | Share | Share across product code |
|---|---|---|---|
| Impedance problem | 328 | 38.9% | 7.6% |
| Premature discharge of battery | 65 | 7.7% | 0% |
| Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed | 40 | 4.7% | 3.4% |
| Circuit failure | 32 | 3.8% | 2.2% |
| Device appears to trigger rejection | 27 | 3.2% | 0.8% |
| Electrical /electronic property probleman electrical or electronic problem | 22 | 2.6% | 0.3% |
| Inappropriate/inadequate shock/stimulation | 20 | 2.4% | 0.1% |
| Insufficient device problem information | 19 | 2.3% | 6% |
| Fracturea broken bone | 15 | 1.8% | 0% |
| Invalid sensing | 13 | 1.5% | 0% |
| Output problem | 12 | 1.4% | 6.9% |
| Device fell | 10 | 1.2% | 0% |
| Over-sensing | 10 | 1.2% | 0% |
| Device tipped over | 8 | 0.9% | 0% |
| Failure to advance | 7 | 0.8% | 0% |
| Breakthe device broke | 6 | 0.7% | 0.5% |
| Unstable | 6 | 0.7% | 0% |
| Battery problema problem with the battery | 5 | 0.6% | 0.3% |
| Device displays incorrect message | 5 | 0.6% | 0% |
| Device handling problem | 5 | 0.6% | 0.2% |
FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.
Patient problems coded
| Patient problem (FDA code) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Failure of implant | 170 | 20.2% |
| Head injurya head injury | 80 | 9.5% |
| Falla fall | 34 | 4% |
| Shock from patient lead(s) | 18 | 2.1% |
| Tissue breakdown | 15 | 1.8% |
| Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term | 14 | 1.7% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 14 | 1.7% |
| Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue | 12 | 1.4% |
| Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding | 10 | 1.2% |
| No patient involvement | 9 | 1.1% |
| Skin tears | 9 | 1.1% |
| Bone fracture(s) | 7 | 0.8% |
| Bruise/contusion | 7 | 0.8% |
| Laceration(s) | 7 | 0.8% |
| Skin infection | 7 | 0.8% |
Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.
In context
| Measure | Concerto | Product code MCM | All MAUDE reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reports | 843 | 75,481 | 26,136,888 |
| Share of that pool | — | 1.1% | 0% |
| Classified as death, per 1,000 reports | 27 | 1 | 9 |
| Classified as injury | 33.9% | 56.2% | 36.2% |
| Classified as malfunction | 62.8% | 43.1% | 62.3% |
| Filed by the manufacturer | 95.5% | 91.7% | 94.9% |
Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."
Other brands with product code MCM
| Brand | Reports | Latest 12 months | Classified as death |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nucleus 24 Channel Cochlear Implant System | 12,137 | 0 | 0.1% |
| Med-El Maestro Cochlear Implant System | 7,391 | 0 | 0% |
| MED-EL Combi 40+ Cochlear Implant System | 6,149 | 0 | 0% |
| HiRes Ultra Implant | 5,384 | 404 | 0% |
| HiRes Ultra 3D Implant | 4,177 | 532 | 0.1% |
| HiRes 90K | 3,452 | 30 | 0.1% |
| HiRes 90K Implant | 2,754 | 89 | 0% |
| Nucleus CI512 Cochlear Implant with Contour Advance Electrode | 2,605 | 232 | 0% |
| Clarion | 2,563 | 0 | 0.8% |
| Nucleus CI622 Cochlear Implant with Slim Straight Electrode | 2,398 | 510 | 0% |
| Nucleus CI632 Profile Plus with Slim Modiolar Electrode | 2,353 | 461 | 0% |
| HiRes 90K Advantage Implant | 2,226 | 86 | 0% |
| Nucleus Freedom Implant with Contour Advance Electrode | 1,973 | 189 | 0.2% |
| CLARION Implant | 1,729 | 169 | 0% |
| Nucleus CI522 Cochlear Implant with Slim Straight Electrode | 1,584 | 179 | 0% |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."
Questions about Concerto reports
How many FDA reports name Concerto?
843 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 199 in the latest 12 months.
What kinds of events are reported?
malfunction (62.8%), injury (33.9%) and death (2.7%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.
What device problems are coded?
impedance problem (38.9%), premature discharge of battery (7.7%), migration (4.7%), circuit failure (3.8%) and device appears to trigger rejection (3.2%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.
Who files these reports?
manufacturer reports (95.5%), voluntary reports (0.8%) and distributor reports (0.8%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.
Do these reports show that Concerto was at fault?
No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."
How do I report a problem with a medical device?
Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.