Reported Reactions

Devices › Intervertebral fusion device with bone graft, lumbar

Device brand name · Intervertebral fusion device with bone graft lumbar

Clydesdale Spinal System: medical device reports filed with FDA

260 reports name it, 2013–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Msd Deggendorf Mfg. Product code MAX.

260
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 19 a year
33
reports, 12 months to August 2026
18 in the 12 months before
53.1%
classified as malfunction
63.3% across the product code
0.4%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 260 reports that name the brand "Clydesdale Spinal System" (intervertebral fusion device with bone graft lumbar), received between January 2013 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Msd Deggendorf Mfg. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

33 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 83% from 18 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (53.1%), injury (46.2%) and death (0.4%); across all intervertebral fusion device with bone graft, lumbar reports (product code MAX) death is recorded in 0.3% and malfunction in 63.3%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are break (29.2%), migration or expulsion of device (9.6%) and migration (5%). The patient problems coded most often are injury, pain and bone fracture(s). FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

059Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 2Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 1Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 4Dec 2024: 22025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 5Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 1May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 4Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 32026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 9Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 1Jun 2026: 4Jul 2026: 2Aug 2026: 5

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

024472013: 620132014: 132015: 3820152016: 432017: 4720172018: 62019: 1320192020: 102021: 820212022: 142023: 620232024: 132025: 2020252026: 23

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.4%1
Injury46.2%120
Malfunction53.1%138
Other0%0
Not given0.4%1

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.6%259
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.4%1

Grey bar: all 9,238 reports carrying product code MAX. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Breakthe device broke7629.2%28.7%
Migration or expulsion of device259.6%6.8%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed135%8.5%
Malposition of device51.9%1.3%
Mechanics altered51.9%1.3%
Detachment of device component31.2%1.4%
Device dislodged or dislocated31.2%2.1%
Unintended movement31.2%0.8%
Crackthe device cracked20.8%1.4%
Degraded20.8%0%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove20.8%0.7%
Mechanical problema mechanical problem20.8%5.7%
Collapse10.4%2.3%
Cut in material10.4%0%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off10.4%1.1%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert10.4%1.3%
Fracturea broken bone10.4%8.5%
Insufficient device problem information10.4%2%
Loose or intermittent connection10.4%0.8%
Loosening of implant not related to bone-ingrowth10.4%0.3%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Injurya physical injury249.2%
Painpain, site not specified176.5%
Bone fracture(s)83.1%
Numbnessnumbness83.1%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque62.3%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue62.3%
Neuropathy62.3%
Appropriate clinical signs, symptoms and conditions term/code not available31.2%
Spinal column injury31.2%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term20.8%
Muscle weakness/atrophy20.8%
Nerve damage20.8%
Neurological deficit/dysfunction20.8%
Post operative wound infection20.8%
Stenosis20.8%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureClydesdale Spinal SystemProduct code MAXAll MAUDE reports
Reports2609,23826,136,888
Share of that pool—2.8%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports439
Classified as injury46.2%35.6%36.2%
Classified as malfunction53.1%63.3%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.6%97.1%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code MAX

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Catalyft PL Expandable Interbody System378950%
ELEVATE Spinal System386460%
CAPSTONE Spinal System358260.3%
Crescent Spinal System32250.6%
CLYDESDALE PTC Spinal System22250%
Pivox Oblique Lateral Spinal System25550%
T-Pal Spacer Applicator Inner Shaft27100%
T-Pal Spacer Applicator Knob18500%
T-Pal Spacer Applicator Handle15700%
Unknown Cage/Spacer28040%
Unknown_Spine_Product596240%
Orthopedic Manual Surgical Instrument1,14300.2%
Collect No Qas Spine Anterior Stabilis26900%
Verte-Stack Spinal System21200.5%
Divergence Anterior Cervical Fusion System230300%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Clydesdale Spinal System reports

How many FDA reports name Clydesdale Spinal System?

260 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 33 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (53.1%), injury (46.2%) and death (0.4%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

break (29.2%), migration or expulsion of device (9.6%), migration (5%), malposition of device (1.9%) and mechanics altered (1.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.6%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Clydesdale Spinal System was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.