Reported Reactions

Devices › Permanent pacemaker electrode

Device brand name · Implantable pacing lead

CapSure: medical device reports filed with FDA

950 reports name it, 1996–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Medtronic Puerto Rico. Product code DTB.

950
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 32 a year
51
reports, 12 months to August 2026
128 in the 12 months before
43.6%
classified as malfunction
43.9% across the product code
4.8%
classified as death, as reported
46 reports · not verified by FDA

950 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "CapSure" (implantable pacing lead); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Medtronic Puerto Rico; received from September 1996 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

51 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, down 60% from 128 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (51.6%), malfunction (43.6%) and death (4.8%); across all permanent pacemaker electrode reports (product code DTB) death is recorded in 2.9% and malfunction in 43.9%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are low impedance (13.5%), over-sensing (9.3%) and failure to capture (8.4%). The patient problems coded most often are death, muscle stimulation and syncope. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

0918Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 3Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 2Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 3Aug 2022: 2Sep 2022: 5Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 32023Jan 2023: 2Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 2May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 5Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 4Nov 2023: 3Dec 2023: 52024Jan 2024: 5Feb 2024: 9Mar 2024: 17Apr 2024: 7May 2024: 12Jun 2024: 8Jul 2024: 8Aug 2024: 11Sep 2024: 13Oct 2024: 12Nov 2024: 9Dec 2024: 92025Jan 2025: 12Feb 2025: 10Mar 2025: 18Apr 2025: 8May 2025: 13Jun 2025: 7Jul 2025: 8Aug 2025: 9Sep 2025: 4Oct 2025: 7Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 62026Jan 2026: 0Feb 2026: 4Mar 2026: 6Apr 2026: 9May 2026: 4Jun 2026: 3Jul 2026: 3Aug 2026: 3

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0601201996: 319961997: 691998: 471999: 182000: 3920002001: 192002: 102003: 82004: 920042005: 62006: 192007: 92008: 1620082009: 182010: 342011: 362012: 3320122013: 442014: 292015: 392016: 2420162017: 212018: 242019: 262020: 1920202021: 302022: 172023: 282024: 12020242025: 1042026: 32

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death4.8%46
Injury51.6%490
Malfunction43.6%414
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report99.2%942
Voluntary report0.2%2
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0.6%6

Grey bar: all 327,317 reports carrying product code DTB. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Low impedance12813.5%5.3%
Over-sensing889.3%13.2%
Failure to capture808.4%9.7%
Failure to form staple768%0%
Unintended ejection768%0%
Lead(s), fracture of717.5%0.9%
High capture threshold535.6%12.3%
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)464.8%0.5%
Signal artifact/noise363.8%5.2%
Breakthe device broke353.7%1.8%
Under-sensing343.6%17.1%
High impedance323.4%10.7%
Fracturea broken bone313.3%4.8%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off272.8%0%
Impedance problem242.5%4.3%
Loss of threshold212.2%0.7%
High sensing threshold202.1%2.3%
Capturing problem192%4.2%
Extracardiac stimulation131.4%0.5%
Insulation, hole(s) in121.3%0.2%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term384%
Muscle stimulation181.9%
Syncopefainting141.5%
Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness101.1%
Foreign body in patientpart of a device left in the patient101.1%
Painpain, site not specified80.8%
Erosion70.7%
Arrhythmia60.6%
Bacterial infectiona bacterial infection50.5%
Bradycardiaslow heart rate50.5%
Failure of implant50.5%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue50.5%
Perforation40.4%
Surgical procedure40.4%
Syncope/fainting40.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureCapSureProduct code DTBAll MAUDE reports
Reports950327,31726,136,888
Share of that pool—0.3%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports48299
Classified as injury51.6%53.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction43.6%43.9%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer99.2%96.8%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DTB

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
CapSureFix Novus Lead MRI SureScan108,10317,5541%
Capsurefix Novus57,53846.8%
CapSureFix Novus MRI SureScan18,9093,2431.3%
CapSure Sense Lead MRI SureScan8,7741,3371%
CapSure SP8,2232263.9%
Capsurefix7,28406.3%
Permanent Pacemaker Electrode5,0413320.4%
Capsure Sp Novus4,80309.5%
Capsure Sense4,74006.4%
Flextend6,8362030.7%
Attain Otw7,77309.1%
Tendril Sdx8,31632.3%
CapSure Epicardial Lead4,8427601.5%
Tendril Sts54,0364,3203.1%
CapSure SP Novus Lead2,7153311.1%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about CapSure reports

How many FDA reports name CapSure?

950 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 51 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (51.6%), malfunction (43.6%) and death (4.8%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

low impedance (13.5%), over-sensing (9.3%), failure to capture (8.4%), failure to form staple (8%) and unintended ejection (8%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (99.2%) and voluntary reports (0.2%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that CapSure was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.