Reported Reactions

Devices › Adaptor, stopcock, manifold, fitting, cardiopulmonary bypass

Device brand name · Convenience kit

Boston Scientific: medical device reports filed with FDA

580 reports name it, 1999–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Boston Scientific. Product code DTL.

580
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 21 a year
5
reports, 12 months to August 2026
3 in the 12 months before
55%
classified as malfunction
90.7% across the product code
3.3%
classified as death, as reported
19 reports · not verified by FDA

580 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Boston Scientific" (convenience kit); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Boston Scientific; received from May 1999 to August 2026. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

5 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 67% from 3 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (55%), injury (37.9%) and death (3.3%); across all adaptor, stopcock, manifold, fitting, cardiopulmonary bypass reports (product code DTL) death is recorded in 0.8% and malfunction in 90.7%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are bubble(s) (13.3%), replace (12.2%) and break (8.6%). The patient problems coded most often are hospitalization required, therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional and foreign body, removal of. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

035Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 12023Jan 2023: 1Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 02024Jan 2024: 0Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 5Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 02025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 0Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 1Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 02026Jan 2026: 1Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 1Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 0Jun 2026: 0Jul 2026: 0Aug 2026: 1

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0621241999: 519992000: 42001: 52002: 1320022003: 112004: 352005: 5920052006: 1102007: 1242008: 2820082009: 202010: 302011: 2820112012: 202013: 62014: 620142015: 72016: 112017: 1420172018: 72020: 32021: 320212022: 92023: 62024: 1020242025: 32026: 3

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death3.3%19
Injury37.9%220
Malfunction55%319
Other2.9%17
Not given0.9%5

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report42.4%246
Voluntary report41.9%243
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0.2%1
Not given15.5%90

Grey bar: all 2,159 reports carrying product code DTL. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Bubble(s)7713.3%1.9%
Replace7112.2%1%
Breakthe device broke508.6%12.3%
Air leak447.6%5.4%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove386.6%0.6%
Detachment of device component274.7%2.7%
Device, removal of (non-implant)274.7%0.1%
Unsealed device packaging223.8%0.7%
Sterility193.3%0.6%
Sticking193.3%0%
Device, or device fragments remain in patient162.8%0%
Leak/splashthe device leaked152.6%33.3%
Air eliminator, defective111.9%0.3%
Balloon rupture111.9%0%
Material separation111.9%0.5%
Failure to advance101.7%0%
Insufficient device problem information101.7%0.1%
Migration or expulsion of device101.7%0%
Crackthe device cracked91.6%2.3%
Defective devicethe device was defective91.6%1.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Hospitalization required274.7%
Therapy/non-surgical treatment, additional264.5%
Foreign body, removal of244.1%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term203.4%
No patient involvement183.1%
Nonresorbable materials, unretrieved in body142.4%
Chest painchest pain132.2%
Surgical procedure, additional132.2%
Surgical procedure122.1%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque111.9%
Painpain, site not specified111.9%
Burn(s)a burn71.2%
Occlusion71.2%
Air embolism50.9%
Erosion50.9%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureBoston ScientificProduct code DTLAll MAUDE reports
Reports5802,15926,136,888
Share of that pool—26.9%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports3389
Classified as injury37.9%6.8%36.2%
Classified as malfunction55%90.7%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer42.4%95.7%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DTL

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Copilot226260%
Copilot Bleedback Control Valve21500%
Merit Custom Kit1,590130.1%
Navilyst Medical25200.4%
Indeflator356230%
AngioDynamics174141.7%
Custom Tubing Pack1,0393531.1%
Deroyal587140.7%
Attain45901.5%
Cardiovascular Procedure Kit55301.3%
Acist3481410.6%
Bulk Non Ster Xcoat Delph Pump26600.4%
Hlm Tubing Set W/Bioline Coating43907.1%
Medex20280%
Stopcock164160%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Boston Scientific reports

How many FDA reports name Boston Scientific?

580 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 5 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (55%), injury (37.9%) and death (3.3%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

bubble(s) (13.3%), replace (12.2%), break (8.6%), air leak (7.6%) and difficult to remove (6.6%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (42.4%), voluntary reports (41.9%) and distributor reports (0.2%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Boston Scientific was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.