Reported Reactions

Devices › Compressor, cardiac, external

Device brand name · Nimh battery

Autopulse Nimh Battery: medical device reports filed with FDA

807 reports name it, 2012–2016. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Zoll Circulation. Product code DRM.

807
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 58 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
95.7%
classified as malfunction
95.8% across the product code
3.6%
classified as death, as reported
29 reports · not verified by FDA

807 medical device reports received by FDA name the brand "Autopulse Nimh Battery" (nimh battery); the manufacturer given most often on reports is Zoll Circulation; received from July 2012 to March 2016. Brand names are as the reporter or manufacturer wrote them, so one product can appear under several spellings.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (95.7%), death (3.6%) and injury (0.4%); across all compressor, cardiac, external reports (product code DRM) death is recorded in 1.8% and malfunction in 95.8%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are device operates differently than expected (30.1%), battery problem (26.4%) and device displays incorrect message (17.2%). The patient problems coded most often are death, no patient involvement and cardiac arrest. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming Autopulse Nimh Battery was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in March 2016.

By year received

02605202012: 24420122013: 52020132014: 3320142015: 620152016: 42016

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death3.6%29
Injury0.4%3
Malfunction95.7%772
Other0%0
Not given0.4%3

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%807
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 11,439 reports carrying product code DRM. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly24330.1%9.1%
Battery problema problem with the battery21326.4%5.2%
Device displays incorrect message13917.2%21.6%
Premature discharge of battery8210.2%1%
Low battery566.9%1.1%
Device inoperablethe device could not be used556.8%1.7%
Failure to charge344.2%0.5%
Application interface becomes non-functional or program exits abnormally212.6%0.4%
Charging problem212.6%0.5%
Failure to power up131.6%3.5%
Loss of powerthe device lost power131.6%1%
Device stops intermittentlythe device stopped now and then111.4%1.4%
Power problem111.4%0.4%
No device output101.2%0.1%
Output below specifications70.9%0.1%
Self-activation or keying60.7%0.2%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method50.6%0.1%
Power conditioning problem40.5%0%
Communication or transmission problemthe device could not communicate or transmit20.2%0%
Defective devicethe device was defective20.2%0.1%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term556.8%
No patient involvement243%
Cardiac arrestthe heart stopped212.6%
Bradycardiaslow heart rate40.5%
Chest painchest pain30.4%
Myocardial infarctionheart attack20.2%
Stroke/cva20.2%
Angina10.1%
Electric shockan electric shock10.1%
Falla fall10.1%
Painpain, site not specified10.1%
Respiratory arrestbreathing stopped10.1%
Shockshock, a collapse of the circulation10.1%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureAutopulse Nimh BatteryProduct code DRMAll MAUDE reports
Reports80711,43926,136,888
Share of that pool—7.1%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports36189
Classified as injury0.4%2.1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction95.7%95.8%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.3%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code DRM

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Autopulse Resuscitation Model 1003,77900%
Autopulse Platform Resuscitation1,85900%
Autopulse Resuscitation System Model 1001,56802.8%
AutoPulseResuscitation System9533340%
AutoPulse Li-ion Battery1,415270.1%
Autopulse Lifeband24600.4%
AutoPulse Resuscitation System232220.9%
Lucas 3 Chest Compression System2161855.1%
AutoPulse NXT Resuscitation System1921130%
LUCAS 3 CPR Chest Compression System1581581.3%
Lifeline4,8772,1170.4%
Zoll221014%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Autopulse Nimh Battery reports

How many FDA reports name Autopulse Nimh Battery?

807 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (95.7%), death (3.6%) and injury (0.4%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

device operates differently than expected (30.1%), battery problem (26.4%), device displays incorrect message (17.2%), premature discharge of battery (10.2%) and low battery (6.9%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Autopulse Nimh Battery was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.