Reported Reactions

Devices › Dressing, wound, hydrophilic

Device brand name · Dressing wound hydrophilic

Aquacel Foam: medical device reports filed with FDA

489 reports name it, 2013–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Convatec. Product code NAC.

489
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 38 a year
124
reports, 12 months to August 2026
33 in the 12 months before
88.1%
classified as malfunction
77.4% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 489 reports that name the brand "Aquacel Foam" (dressing wound hydrophilic), received between October 2013 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Convatec. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

124 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 276% from 33 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (88.1%) and injury (11.9%); across all dressing, wound, hydrophilic reports (product code NAC) death is recorded in 0.4% and malfunction in 77.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are delivered as unsterile product (65.6%), device contamination with chemical or other material (37.2%) and contamination /decontamination problem (26.8%). The patient problems coded most often are no patient involvement, local reaction and irritation. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

02754Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 02022Jan 2022: 0Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 3Oct 2022: 3Nov 2022: 5Dec 2022: 02023Jan 2023: 3Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 28Jul 2023: 10Aug 2023: 3Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 2Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 32024Jan 2024: 1Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 12May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 1Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 3Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 32025Jan 2025: 1Feb 2025: 10Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 10Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 18Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 72026Jan 2026: 7Feb 2026: 13Mar 2026: 13Apr 2026: 0May 2026: 4Jun 2026: 3Jul 2026: 54Aug 2026: 4

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0831662013: 720132014: 5120142018: 16620182019: 2020192020: 1020202022: 1120222023: 5120232024: 2220242025: 5320252026: 982026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury11.9%58
Malfunction88.1%431
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%489
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 1,404 reports carrying product code NAC. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Delivered as unsterile product32165.6%41.7%
Device contamination with chemical or other material18237.2%17.5%
Contamination /decontamination problem13126.8%12%
Material disintegration5411%6%
Material fragmentation5411%6.1%
Increased sensitivity255.1%1.8%
Difficult to removethe device was hard to remove224.5%8.3%
Unsealed device packaging112.2%14.4%
Nonstandard device102%2.3%
Packaging problem91.8%3.7%
Device damaged prior to usethe device was damaged before use61.2%2.8%
Sticking40.8%0.9%
Device damaged prior to receipt by user20.4%0.4%
Tear, rip or hole in device packaging20.4%1.2%
Material deformation10.2%0%
Material distortion10.2%0%
Moisture or humidity problem10.2%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
No patient involvement18337.4%
Local reaction306.1%
Irritationirritation122.5%
Itching sensation122.5%
Painpain, site not specified122.5%
Tissue breakdown122.5%
Skin inflammation102%
Skin irritationirritated skin102%
Ulcer61.2%
Necrosisdeath of tissue51%
Skin discoloration40.8%
Increased sensitivity30.6%
Rashskin rash30.6%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified30.6%
Abrasion20.4%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

MeasureAquacel FoamProduct code NACAll MAUDE reports
Reports4891,40426,136,888
Share of that pool—34.8%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports049
Classified as injury11.9%21.7%36.2%
Classified as malfunction88.1%77.4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%98.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code NAC

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Aquacel Extra192270%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about Aquacel Foam reports

How many FDA reports name Aquacel Foam?

489 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 124 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (88.1%) and injury (11.9%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

delivered as unsterile product (65.6%), device contamination with chemical or other material (37.2%), contamination /decontamination problem (26.8%), material disintegration (11%) and material fragmentation (11%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that Aquacel Foam was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.