Reported Reactions

Devices › Device, hemostasis, vascular

Device brand name · Device hemostasis vascular

8f Angio-Seal Sts Plus Vascular Closure Device Ous: medical device reports filed with FDA

621 reports name it, 2017–2019. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Terumo Medical. Product code MGB.

621
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 67 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
77.1%
classified as malfunction
16.4% across the product code
0.2%
classified as death, as reported
1 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 621 reports that name the brand "8f Angio-Seal Sts Plus Vascular Closure Device Ous" (device hemostasis vascular), received between April 2017 and November 2019; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Terumo Medical. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (77.1%), injury (22.7%) and death (0.2%); across all device, hemostasis, vascular reports (product code MGB) death is recorded in 0.6% and malfunction in 16.4%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are detachment of device or device component (54.6%), material deformation (9.2%) and kinked (8.2%). The patient problems coded most often are blood loss, no patient involvement and occlusion. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming 8f Angio-Seal Sts Plus Vascular Closure Device Ous was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in November 2019.

By year received

01533062017: 14120172018: 30620182019: 1742019

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0.2%1
Injury22.7%141
Malfunction77.1%479
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%621
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 124,366 reports carrying product code MGB. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off33954.6%0.9%
Material deformation579.2%0.8%
Kinkedthe tube or line kinked518.2%0.2%
Difficult to insertthe device was hard to insert426.8%2.2%
Detachment of device component274.3%3.4%
Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly203.2%13.6%
Physical resistance/sticking182.9%0.7%
Activation, positioning or separation problem142.3%1.7%
Activation failure101.6%0.9%
Physical resistance101.6%0.3%
Positioning failure71.1%4.5%
Bent61%0.3%
Deformation due to compressive stress40.6%0.3%
Device dislodged or dislocated40.6%0.1%
Insufficient device problem information40.6%3%
Device damaged prior to usethe device was damaged before use30.5%0%
Device operational issue30.5%0%
Difficult or delayed positioning30.5%1.1%
Failure to advance30.5%0.9%
Expulsion20.3%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Blood loss10617.1%
No patient involvement91.4%
Occlusion50.8%
Device embedded in tissue or plaque30.5%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue30.5%
Aneurysm10.2%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term10.2%
Hemorrhage/blood loss/bleeding10.2%
Inflammationinflammation10.2%
Painpain, site not specified10.2%
Perforation10.2%
Pseudoaneurysm10.2%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified10.2%
Vascular dissection10.2%
Vessel or plaque, device embedded in10.2%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

Measure8f Angio-Seal Sts Plus Vascular Closure Device OusProduct code MGBAll MAUDE reports
Reports621124,36626,136,888
Share of that pool—0.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports269
Classified as injury22.7%82.5%36.2%
Classified as malfunction77.1%16.4%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97.5%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code MGB

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Perclose Proglide 6f Suture Mediated Closure Smc System46,23600.3%
Perclose ProStyle Suture-Mediated Closure and Repair System16,441220%
Perclose ProStyle12,9352,3080.1%
Starclose Se Vascular Closure System6,43200.4%
Perclose ProGlide3,5546530.9%
Angio-Seal2,5239020.8%
Exoseal2,4411,1610%
6f Angio-Seal Vip Vascular Closure Device Ous1,81800.3%
Mynx Control1,7667680.1%
Starclose Vascular Closure System1,88081.2%
6f Angio-Seal Vip Vascular Closure Device Us1,61700.2%
Mynxgrip1,2544220.3%
Prostar Xl Suture-Mediated Closure1,23903.1%
Mynxgrip Vascular Closure Device 6f-7f1,17100.6%
8f Angio-Seal Vip Vascular Closure Device Ous1,05600.3%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about 8f Angio-Seal Sts Plus Vascular Closure Device Ous reports

How many FDA reports name 8f Angio-Seal Sts Plus Vascular Closure Device Ous?

621 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (77.1%), injury (22.7%) and death (0.2%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

detachment of device or device component (54.6%), material deformation (9.2%), kinked (8.2%), difficult to insert (6.8%) and detachment of device component (4.3%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that 8f Angio-Seal Sts Plus Vascular Closure Device Ous was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.