Reported Reactions

Devices › Mesh, surgical, polymeric

Device brand name · Surgical mesh

3DMax Light: medical device reports filed with FDA

907 reports name it, 2016–2026. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Davol Sub C R Bard. Product code FTL.

907
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 89 a year
84
reports, 12 months to August 2026
37 in the 12 months before
14.8%
classified as malfunction
2.5% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 907 reports that name the brand "3DMax Light" (surgical mesh), received between April 2016 and August 2026; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Davol Sub C R Bard. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

84 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, up 127% from 37 in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are injury (85.2%) and malfunction (14.8%); across all mesh, surgical, polymeric reports (product code FTL) death is recorded in 0.5% and malfunction in 2.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are defective device (72.4%), patient device interaction problem (46.2%) and insufficient device problem information (28.6%). The patient problems coded most often are injury, pain and hernia. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

01631Sep 2021: 15Oct 2021: 6Nov 2021: 12Dec 2021: 102022Jan 2022: 7Feb 2022: 31Mar 2022: 25Apr 2022: 6May 2022: 12Jun 2022: 10Jul 2022: 7Aug 2022: 7Sep 2022: 4Oct 2022: 13Nov 2022: 19Dec 2022: 122023Jan 2023: 6Feb 2023: 12Mar 2023: 8Apr 2023: 12May 2023: 9Jun 2023: 15Jul 2023: 5Aug 2023: 8Sep 2023: 7Oct 2023: 10Nov 2023: 12Dec 2023: 92024Jan 2024: 6Feb 2024: 8Mar 2024: 16Apr 2024: 11May 2024: 11Jun 2024: 5Jul 2024: 10Aug 2024: 18Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 5Nov 2024: 2Dec 2024: 12025Jan 2025: 3Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 3Apr 2025: 5May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 8Jul 2025: 2Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 15Oct 2025: 8Nov 2025: 2Dec 2025: 72026Jan 2026: 3Feb 2026: 9Mar 2026: 7Apr 2026: 4May 2026: 9Jun 2026: 2Jul 2026: 15Aug 2026: 3

Reports by the month FDA received them. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases.

By year received

0791572016: 320162017: 82018: 1920182019: 1142020: 15720202021: 1342022: 15320222023: 1132024: 9620242025: 582026: 522026

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury85.2%773
Malfunction14.8%134
Other0%0
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report100%907
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report0%0
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 170,304 reports carrying product code FTL. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
Defective devicethe device was defective65772.4%34.3%
Patient device interaction problem41946.2%18.9%
Insufficient device problem information25928.6%26.3%
Patient-device incompatibilitythe device did not suit the patient20122.2%7.2%
Material split, cut or torn869.5%0.7%
Migrationthe device moved from where it was placed212.3%1.6%
Device contamination with chemical or other material182%0.1%
Material deformation182%2.3%
Material frayed101.1%0%
Unsealed device packaging60.7%0%
Tear, rip or hole in device packaging50.6%0.1%
Delivered as unsterile product30.3%0.1%
Device appears to trigger rejection20.2%0.2%
Contamination /decontamination problem10.1%0%
Detachment of device or device componentpart of the device came off10.1%0.3%
Device damaged by another device10.1%0%
Device markings/labelling problema problem with the device markings or label10.1%0.1%
Difficult or delayed positioning10.1%0%
Inadequate instructions for healthcare professional10.1%0%
Material puncture/hole10.1%0%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Injurya physical injury26028.7%
Painpain, site not specified18620.5%
Hernia15717.3%
Adhesion(s)485.3%
Seromaa collection of fluid under the skin313.4%
Disability222.4%
Scar tissue202.2%
Hematomaa collection of blood under the skin or in tissue192.1%
Obstruction/occlusion161.8%
Nerve damage141.5%
Abdominal painstomach or belly pain111.2%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified91%
Inflammationinflammation70.8%
Neuralgia70.8%
Abscessa collection of pus60.7%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

Measure3DMax LightProduct code FTLAll MAUDE reports
Reports907170,30426,136,888
Share of that pool—0.5%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports059
Classified as injury85.2%96.5%36.2%
Classified as malfunction14.8%2.5%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer100%97.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code FTL

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Bard Flat Mesh8,2991100.5%
PerFix Plug8,2561670.3%
Parietex6,3043201%
Ventralight ST Mesh5,8131060.5%
Obtryx System6,03110%
Ventralex ST5,3651010.4%
Tension Free Vaginal Tape9,35500.1%
Mesh Ventralex4,66150.4%
3DMax3,9711550.1%
ProGrip3,8204120.8%
Proceed Surg Mesh/Multi Lyr3,199290%
Mesh Sofradim - Parietex Composite Mesh2,946161.5%
Advantage? System3,537130%
Ventrio ST2,751510.7%
Symbotex2,7411901.2%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about 3DMax Light reports

How many FDA reports name 3DMax Light?

907 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 84 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

injury (85.2%) and malfunction (14.8%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

defective device (72.4%), patient device interaction problem (46.2%), insufficient device problem information (28.6%), patient-device incompatibility (22.2%) and material split, cut or torn (9.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that 3DMax Light was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.