Devices › Bed, ac-powered adjustable hospital
Device brand name · Ac powered hospital bed
3 Motor Advance Bed: medical device reports filed with FDA
484 reports name it, 2005–2014. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Hill-Rom. Product code FNL.
- 484
- device reports naming the brand
- 0% of all MAUDE reports · about 23 a year
- 0
- reports, 12 months to August 2026
- 0 in the 12 months before
- 99%
- classified as malfunction
- 95.5% across the product code
- 0.4%
- classified as death, as reported
- 2 reports · not verified by FDA
FDA's MAUDE database holds 484 reports that name the brand "3 Motor Advance Bed" (ac powered hospital bed), received between April 2005 and August 2014; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Hill-Rom. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.
0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (99%), death (0.4%) and other (0.4%); across all bed, ac-powered adjustable hospital reports (product code FNL) death is recorded in 0.7% and malfunction in 95.5%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.
The device problems coded most often are device slipped (35.5%), sticking (23.3%) and unintended system motion (12.8%). The patient problems coded most often are no patient involvement, death and fall. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."
Reports by month, five years
No report naming 3 Motor Advance Bed was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in August 2014.
By year received
Event type and report source
Event type, as classified on the report
Who filed the report
Grey bar: all 94,202 reports carrying product code FNL. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.
Device problems coded
| Device problem (FDA code) | Reports | Share | Share across product code |
|---|---|---|---|
| Device slipped | 172 | 35.5% | 16.6% |
| Sticking | 113 | 23.3% | 9.7% |
| Unintended system motionthe device moved when it should not have | 62 | 12.8% | 5.3% |
| Device alarm system | 27 | 5.6% | 8.2% |
| Grounding malfunction | 22 | 4.5% | 2.7% |
| Mechanical problema mechanical problem | 17 | 3.5% | 2.8% |
| Device operates differently than expectedthe device behaved unexpectedly | 13 | 2.7% | 5.5% |
| Locking mechanism failure | 12 | 2.5% | 0.5% |
| System fails to activate | 12 | 2.5% | 0.3% |
| Breakthe device broke | 9 | 1.9% | 9.4% |
| Device inoperablethe device could not be used | 8 | 1.7% | 5.1% |
| Loose | 7 | 1.4% | 2% |
| Repair | 7 | 1.4% | 2.3% |
| Unintended head motion | 6 | 1.2% | 4% |
| Component(s), worn | 4 | 0.8% | 0.1% |
| Drift | 3 | 0.6% | 0.2% |
| Moisture damage | 3 | 0.6% | 0.7% |
| Bent | 2 | 0.4% | 1.5% |
| Component(s), broken | 2 | 0.4% | 0.2% |
| Device emits odor | 2 | 0.4% | 0.1% |
FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.
Patient problems coded
| Patient problem (FDA code) | Reports | Share |
|---|---|---|
| No patient involvement | 18 | 3.7% |
| Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term | 1 | 0.2% |
| Falla fall | 1 | 0.2% |
| Loss of consciousnesspassing out | 1 | 0.2% |
| Painpain, site not specified | 1 | 0.2% |
| Physical entrapment | 1 | 0.2% |
Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.
In context
| Measure | 3 Motor Advance Bed | Product code FNL | All MAUDE reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reports | 484 | 94,202 | 26,136,888 |
| Share of that pool | — | 0.5% | 0% |
| Classified as death, per 1,000 reports | 4 | 7 | 9 |
| Classified as injury | 0.2% | 2% | 36.2% |
| Classified as malfunction | 99% | 95.5% | 62.3% |
| Filed by the manufacturer | 100% | 97.6% | 94.9% |
Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."
Other brands with product code FNL
| Brand | Reports | Latest 12 months | Classified as death |
|---|---|---|---|
| Totalcare | 6,661 | 0 | 0% |
| Versacare Bed | 4,725 | 0 | 0.2% |
| TotalCare Bed | 4,138 | 274 | 0% |
| Versacare | 3,303 | 0 | 0.1% |
| Secure 3 Med/Surg Bed | 2,484 | 0 | 0.1% |
| Versacare Frame | 2,372 | 0 | 0.2% |
| In Touch Zu | 2,342 | 0 | 0.1% |
| Centra Bed | 2,214 | 0 | 0.1% |
| Advanta Bed | 2,187 | 5 | 0.3% |
| CareAssist Bed | 2,106 | 49 | 0% |
| Ac-Powered Adjustable Hospital Bed Including Rails | 2,167 | 0 | 1.3% |
| Century Bed | 1,386 | 0 | 0.4% |
| Secure 3 Med/Surg Bedobs 01/13 | 1,348 | 8 | 0.1% |
| 4 Motor Advance Bed | 1,339 | 0 | 0.4% |
| Centrella Bed | 1,334 | 798 | 0.2% |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."
Questions about 3 Motor Advance Bed reports
How many FDA reports name 3 Motor Advance Bed?
484 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.
What kinds of events are reported?
malfunction (99%), death (0.4%) and other (0.4%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.
What device problems are coded?
device slipped (35.5%), sticking (23.3%), unintended system motion (12.8%), device alarm system (5.6%) and grounding malfunction (4.5%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.
Who files these reports?
manufacturer reports (100%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.
Do these reports show that 3 Motor Advance Bed was at fault?
No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."
How do I report a problem with a medical device?
Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.