Reported Reactions

Devices › System, test, automated blood grouping and antibody

Device brand name · Reagent red blood cells

0 8% Surgiscreen: medical device reports filed with FDA

166 reports name it, 2003–2011. Manufacturer given most often on reports: Ortho-Clinical Diagnostics. Product code KSZ.

166
device reports naming the brand
0% of all MAUDE reports · about 7 a year
0
reports, 12 months to August 2026
0 in the 12 months before
71.7%
classified as malfunction
96.2% across the product code
0%
classified as death, as reported
0 reports · not verified by FDA

FDA's MAUDE database holds 166 reports that name the brand "0 8% Surgiscreen" (reagent red blood cells), received between July 2003 and November 2011; the manufacturer given most often on reports is Ortho-Clinical Diagnostics. Spellings of one product vary from report to report.

0 reports arrived in the 12 months to August 2026, and none in the 12 months before. FDA releases MAUDE data monthly; reports can arrive months after an event, so the newest months grow in later releases. The event types recorded are malfunction (71.7%), other (22.3%) and injury (6%); across all system, test, automated blood grouping and antibody reports (product code KSZ) death is recorded in 0.1% and malfunction in 96.2%. Event type is the reporter's classification of the report, not a verified outcome.

The device problems coded most often are false negative result (55.4%), other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified) (21.1%) and incorrect or inadequate test results (16.3%). The patient problems coded most often are reaction, transfusion with incompatible blood and other (for use when an appropriate patient code cannot be identified). FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Reports by month, five years

No report naming 0 8% Surgiscreen was received in the five years to August 2026; the latest was received in November 2011.

By year received

019372003: 1720032004: 1720042005: 1720052006: 3120062007: 3720072008: 1520082009: 1520092010: 720102011: 102011

Event type and report source

Event type, as classified on the report

Death0%0
Injury6%10
Malfunction71.7%119
Other22.3%37
Not given0%0

Who filed the report

Manufacturer report18.7%31
Voluntary report0%0
User facility report0%0
Distributor report81.3%135
Not given0%0

Grey bar: all 10,406 reports carrying product code KSZ. Event type is the filer's classification and is not verified by FDA.

Device problems coded

Device problem (FDA code)ReportsShareShare across product code
False negative result9255.4%52.9%
Other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified)3521.1%3.2%
Incorrect or inadequate test results2716.3%13.1%
Device issuea problem with the device84.8%0.7%
Malfunction31.8%0.6%
Reactiona reaction, type not specified31.8%0.3%
Component missing10.6%0.1%
Improper or incorrect procedure or method10.6%0.8%

FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report; one report can carry several. Generic codes such as "no apparent adverse event" are left out.

Patient problems coded

Patient problem (FDA code)ReportsShare
Reactiona reaction, type not specified84.8%
Transfusion with incompatible blood63.6%
Other (for use when an appropriate patient code cannot be identified)42.4%
Transfusion of blood products42.4%
Chillschills or shivering31.8%
Fever31.8%
Hemolysis31.8%
Anemialow red blood cells21.2%
Blood loss21.2%
Deaththe patient died; cause not stated by this term21.2%
Injurya physical injury21.2%
Reaction, systemic21.2%
Allergic reactionan allergic reaction10.6%
Bleeding10.6%
Blood pressure, high10.6%

Patient problem codes are present mainly in reports filed since 2019 and are often blank.

In context

Measure0 8% SurgiscreenProduct code KSZAll MAUDE reports
Reports16610,40626,136,888
Share of that pool—1.6%0%
Classified as death, per 1,000 reports019
Classified as injury6%1%36.2%
Classified as malfunction71.7%96.2%62.3%
Filed by the manufacturer18.7%92.4%94.9%

Shares are of reports, not of devices in use. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data."

Other brands with product code KSZ

BrandReportsLatest 12 monthsClassified as death
Ortho Provue1,44500%
Galileo Echo89600%
Galileo70100.1%
Capture-R Ready-Screen 350100%
0 8% Resolve Panel A39900%
Ortho Provue Analyzer34300%
Echo24900%
Galileo Neo17700%
Tango Optimo15800%
0 8% Selectogen16000%
Mts A/B/D Monoclonal And Reverse Grouping Card18600%
Ortho Summit Sample Handling System4,18200%

Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA also states that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product."

Questions about 0 8% Surgiscreen reports

How many FDA reports name 0 8% Surgiscreen?

166 medical device reports in the openFDA MAUDE release of 28 Sep 2026, covering reports received through August 2026; 0 in the latest 12 months.

What kinds of events are reported?

malfunction (71.7%), other (22.3%) and injury (6%). "Event type" is how the report was classified when filed: death, injury, malfunction or other.

What device problems are coded?

false negative result (55.4%), other (for use when an appropriate device code cannot be identified) (21.1%), incorrect or inadequate test results (16.3%), device issue (4.8%) and malfunction (1.8%). These are FDA's device problem codes as entered on the report.

Who files these reports?

distributor reports (81.3%) and manufacturer reports (18.7%). Manufacturers and user facilities are required to report; voluntary reports come from health professionals and the public.

Do these reports show that 0 8% Surgiscreen was at fault?

No. FDA states that "MDR data alone cannot be used to establish rates of events, evaluate a change in event rates over time or compare event rates between devices. The number of reports cannot be interpreted or used in isolation to reach conclusions about the existence, severity, or frequency of problems associated with devices." It adds that the reporting system "has limitations, including the potential submission of incomplete, inaccurate, untimely, unverified, or biased data." FDA adds that "a causal relationship cannot be established between product and reactions listed in a report."

How do I report a problem with a medical device?

Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500 for health professionals and consumers), or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Device Adverse Event (MAUDE) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 31 Aug 2026. Brand, generic and manufacturer names are as written on the reports; product code names come from FDA's device classification. A report counts here when any device it lists carries this brand name after punctuation and capitalisation are normalised. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.

Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.