Pharmacologic class (EPC) · 3 drug pages
Prostaglandin E1 analog: adverse event reports filed with FDA
9,132 reports list a drug in this class as a suspect or interacting product, 2004–2026.
- 9,132
- reports across the class
- 0% of all reports
- 158
- reports, 12 months to June 2026
- 160 in the 12 months before
- 58.1%
- marked serious by the reporter
- 57.4% across all reports
- 3
- drugs with a page
- brand and generic names counted separately
Prostaglandin E1 analog is a pharmacologic class (an FDA Established Pharmacologic Class) with 3 drug pages on this site. Together those drugs are listed as a suspect or interacting product in 9,132 adverse event reports received by FDA, 0% of the database, from January 2004 to June 2026.
158 reports arrived in the 12 months to June 2026, close to the 160 of the 12 months before. FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases. 58.1% of the class's reports are marked serious, 4.1% record death among the outcomes and 25.5% record hospitalisation, as reported.
Across the class the reactions recorded most often are haemorrhage (18.4%), abortion incomplete (17.8%) and off label use (9.5%). The class median share shown beside each term is the middle value across the member drugs; it is the comparison used on every drug page in this class.
The members table is ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Drugs in the class
| Drug | Name type | Reports | Latest 12 months | Marked serious | Top term recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Misoprostol | generic | 5,334 | 115 | 44.6% | Abortion incomplete |
| ArthrotecDiclofenac sodium and misoprostol | brand | 2,303 | 10 | 66.8% | Drug ineffective |
| CytotecMisoprostol | brand | 1,495 | 33 | 92.9% | Off label use |
Ordered by report count for navigation only. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic."
Reports by month, five years
FDA releases FAERS data quarterly, so the newest months are incomplete and grow in later releases.
Reactions recorded across the class
share of class reports recording the termmedian drug in the class
- Haemorrhagebleeding18.4%1,684
- Abortion incomplete17.8%1,626
- Off label useused for a purpose or in a way not on the label9.5%870
- Painpain, site not specified7.8%711
- Drug ineffectivethe medicine did not work as expected7.7%706
- Anaemialow red blood cells6.5%594
- Pregnancypregnancy6%552
- Drug hypersensitivityan allergic-type reaction to a medicine5.9%535
- Nauseafeeling sick5.5%502
- Muscle spasmsmuscle cramps5.2%475
- Vomitingbeing sick5.1%466
- Dizzinesslight-headedness or unsteadiness4.8%439
- Abdominal painstomach or belly pain3.8%343
- Pyrexiafever3.5%318
- Infectionan infection, type not specified3.4%311
- Product use in unapproved indicationused for a purpose not on the label3.3%303
- Malaisegeneral feeling of being unwell3.3%302
- Rheumatoid arthritisrheumatoid arthritis, an inflammatory joint disease3.3%302
- Drug intolerancethe medicine was not tolerated3.3%297
- Maternal exposure during pregnancythe mother took the medicine during pregnancy3.2%293
- Fatiguetiredness2.8%260
- Condition aggravatedthe condition being treated got worse2.7%251
- Menorrhagiaheavy periods2.7%243
- Foetal exposure during pregnancythe unborn baby was exposed to the medicine2.5%227
- International normalised ratio fluctuation2.4%219
Solid bar: share of all class reports. Hollow bar: the median share across the 3 member drugs, the reference used on each member's page. One report can record several terms.
Outcomes, patients and reporters
Outcomes recorded
Patient age
Who reported
Grey bar: all 20,646,523 reports in the database. Outcome flags are as the reporter set them and are not verified by FDA.
Questions about Prostaglandin E1 analog reports
Which drugs are in the Prostaglandin E1 analog class on this site?
Misoprostol, Arthrotec and Cytotec. Class membership comes from the pharmacologic class (EPC) on the drug's FDA label.
How many reports does the class have?
9,132 reports through June 2026, 158 of them in the latest 12 months. A report listing two drugs of the class counts once for each.
What reactions are recorded most often?
haemorrhage (18.4%), abortion incomplete (17.8%), off label use (9.5%), pain (7.8%) and drug ineffective (7.7%).
Can the members table be used to rank the drugs?
No. FDA states that adverse event reports "represent a small percentage of total usage numbers of a product", that "common products may have a higher number of adverse events due to the higher total number of people using the product", and that the data "by themselves are not an indicator of the safety profile of the drug or biologic." Drugs differ in how many people take them, in the conditions they treat, in time on the market and in how diligently reports are collected.
How do I report an adverse event?
Through FDA MedWatch (Form FDA 3500, or 1-800-FDA-1088) or to the manufacturer. See the guide on how to report.
Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Drug Adverse Event (FAERS) bulk export released 28 Sep 2026, which holds reports FDA received through 30 Jun 2026. Drug names are as reported, resolved to the brand or generic name on the FDA label where openFDA's harmonisation matched them; classes are the pharmacologic class (EPC) from the label and the National Drug Code Directory of 17 Sep 2026. A class is the Established Pharmacologic Class most often attached to a drug's reports by openFDA's label harmonisation, or from the NDC Directory where reports carry none. No report narrative, lot number, patient detail or reporter identity is published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.
Drug data (FAERS) through 30 Jun 2026; device data (MAUDE) through 31 Aug 2026. Not medical advice.